Bookworm

I love reading. Always have, always will- Ever since I was a little girl I loved the places that books could take me and how authors could make me feel as though I knew the characters. I have treasured books form a young age, I relished trips to the library and could not enter a bookshop without begging for a novel. What can I say- I am a complete geek when it comes to books. I admire authors so much and envy their creativity and imagination, their ability to make readers feel and witness and create. I very rarely cry at films but books…well.

I have a rather stupid weakness and often become too emotionally attached to the characters. I smile when the protagonist realises her love for her best friend, cry when dramatic irony allows me to understand what awful pain the main characters actions will eventually cause them and always, always, always feel empty when I finish a book. I know it sounds incredibly cheesy and corny but in some respects finishing a book is like returning from holiday, you enjoyed it but you cant help but thinking “Now what?” as you are forced to settle back into reality. I realise most people reading this will find me incredibly strange and I guess only true book-lovers will understand what I mean.

I am currently reading the Hunger Games trilogy as a bit of light reading and they are very good books- I got through the first 2 in a day and a half. I have a pile in my room of books that I am eager to read and I actually get excited in thinking that I now have a chance to read all of them now that I’ve finished school.

Another thing which I strongly believe in is that books are better than films- they always are! especially when you read the books first and create all these images and ideas in your mind, only for them all to be shattered in the film by the director’s interpretation. Of course some films are amazing, stunning, breathtaking but I believe that 99.9% of the time a book will be better than it’s film equivalent.

Tes.

Image

2 thoughts on “Bookworm

  1. I often have “Now what?” moments after finishing a book, and wish the book was a bit longer so I don’t have to say good-bye too soon. I also agree about the books being better than the movies; there’s something about them that movies can never capture.

Leave a Reply

