Mwuahh

What’s in a kiss?

It’s such a simple action, everyone knows how to kiss- it’s instinct but I think kissing has lost its  meaning over the years.

You know in those soppy romantic films? The ones where you watch the girl and the boy fall in love after dealing with all these struggles and problems, tears and heartache? The most important part of those films is the kiss. Usually right at the end of the film, with an upbeat song in the background, the boy leans in and kisses the girl and it just seems perfect. It’s as if they’re the most important thing in the world in that moment. I’m only young but I know full well I will never experience a kiss that makes me feel like that.

Kissing nowadays is almost as casual as saying hello. You cant expect to do any kind of social activity without someone hooking up with someone. Parties, gatherings or anything that involves alcohol will enivitably mean that someone will end up being kissed and although we are still yound and this is what youth does, the romantic in me feels as if that isn’t enough. I grew up expecting every kiss to be like the perfect-movie-being-swept-of-my-feet-kissed-in-the-rain-world-becomes-a-blur kiss and so far- nothing. I think in the society I live in, kissing isn’t a significant romantic stand-alone action but more just a prelude to sex or even just a casual ‘activity’ as such.

I dont think its fair to say romance is dead but in my generation- it’s certainly dying.

Tes.

One thought on “Mwuahh

Leave a Reply

