Growing Up

I wouldn’t classify myself as a grown up, I still have a lot of maturing to do but I’m getting there… it’s just taking an awfully long time before I feel sure enough to call myself an adult.

One thing I’ve learnt though this is that growing up means growing out of things. I realised I no longer fit into my girly pink bedroom and so painted it a deeper purple, I don’t go on social networking sites as often as I used to and I have to do lists on my phone instead of time-consuming apps. All these things are inevitable when becoming an adult, they’re just acquiring different tastes and thinking in a more mature manner and truth be told we all know that we’re going to have to change a few things as we get older because there is nothing worse than someone who doesn’t act age appropriate.

Although I may accept changing tastes and hobbies slightly, there is one thing that I never thought I’d grow out of…my friends. When you have people you’re close to and share everything with it’s impossible to imagine your life without them, they become like family and when you know them for a long time you start to see them as part of your future. Looking back on the past few months, it’s obvious how much I’ve changed and how unwilling I am to deal with certain behaviour which sadly my best friend has started to possess. Over the past few years I’ve had many arguments and fall outs as everyone does but I thought that was something I left behind with childhood.

On a daily basis I deal with people who are determined to ignore me or hate me because of some petty issue- that I can deal with, but distance in a relationship for no reason at all? It hurts a lot because I know there’s not much to do- we’ve grown apart because we’ve grown up and with that the friendship I once thought would be unbreakable has slowly started to deteriorate and soon enough will be too weak to save.

Tes.

One thought on “Growing Up

  1. I think we have different friendships throughout our lives. Some last for a long time. Some are brief. Yes it’s sad when a friendship dies,but it also leaves room for fresh experiences and shared fun however old you are. I was friends with someone for 20 years and over that time I realised she liked to control me. When I began to be successful she didn’t like it, I wasn’t always in to make her a cup of coffee when she called. She would turn up if I was running a workshop locally and tell my students that she taught me everything I knew (she didn’t). I tolerated it for the sake of the friendship, but when my family started to notice she was always trying to make me feel small I knew it was time to cool it. I now have a fantastic best friend who lives 400 miles away. We speak most days, talk on Skype, e-mail, text, relish any time we get to spend together and support each other in every way. If you no longer smile when you see someone, nor look forward to seeing and being with them the friendship is over. I silently bless people and wish them well and move on without guilt but cherish the good times we had together. I hope you find a new bestie soon who is the perfect fit for the wonderful young woman you are becoming.

Leave a Reply

