The danger of a haircut…

A lot of younger children have this supposedly irrational fear of going to the hairdressers. For the first 10 years of my brother’s life he refused to get his hair cut at a hairdresser’s salon and my mum’s friend would have to cut it at home, using the TV as a distraction. Despite that obviously being ridiculous I think that girls have every reason to be nervous or even scared of a getting a haircut. Fear of pigeons, daddy long legs or walking under ladders- they may be irrational because truthfully not much damage can be caused from any of those things but that is a lot more than can be said than a trip to the hairdressers…

The problem with going to a hairdresser is that more often than not they do exactly the opposite of what you want. This little rant is a consequence of my latest haircut disaster and sadly it’s not the first time I’ve left the hairdressers feeling a little disappointed. I spent about 60% of my childhood with hair that barely reached my chin and just when I thought id outgrown this, I got a disaster haircut at age 13 leaving me with a rather drag-queenesque curly afro that I spent the remainder of my secondary school life growing out and being extremely careful to get no more than a centimetre cut off on my occasional visits to the hairdresser (and I mean an actual centimetre not a hairdressing centimetre which always proves to be around 3 inches long). Being anaemic my hair takes an extraordinarily long time to grow and so I was extremely proud of finally having long hair after struggling for years and dealing with boy-hair. Unfortunately my Rapunzel days were short lived as I decided to go into the hairdressers for a ‘trim’.

An hour later….I arrived home with something resembling a scraggly poodle sitting uncomfortably on my head.

Hairdressers obviously know what they’re doing, what’s best for hair to be healthy and have volume but I don’t want that! I don’t mind having long unhealthy or dry hair because just having long hair is such an achievement for me but I do mind looking like my younger brother’s twin.

I spent about 45 minutes this morning in front of the mirror figuring out the most attractive way to style my new unfortunate haircut and sadly most attempts left me looking like pop star Mika. Looks like there’s no way out of this but to put on a brave face and pretend it looks exactly how I intended it to. Of course short hair suits some people (Mia Farrow, Emma Watson, Katie Holmes, and Victoria Beckham) but I am nowhere near glamorous enough to pull it off, I lack the overall beauty and confidence and what I look like now resembles a chubby boy scout rather than a celebrity goddess.

I urge you all to think long and hard before braving a trip to the hairdressers and to be crystal clear with your wishes, I have learnt time and time again that “just take a little off the end” leaves most hairdressers thinking they have full creative control and leaves me with another 3 years of growing out my horrid haircut.

Tes.

One thought on “The danger of a haircut…

  1. Hi Tes
    Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. I know what you mean about daddy long legs…. many moons ago now (as I am in my mid fifties and this happened when I was a teenager) I had an encounter with a daddy long legs! My parents weren’t the wealthiest of people and our sheets were extremely well worn and rather thin. We lived in a bungalow surrounded by a large garden and this huge daddy long legs drifted in from the garden. I squealed, dove under the sheets pulling them up over my face only for the sheet to rip from one side of my face to the other and I am staring up through the tear at the beast! My only advice is to eat lots of almonds or other nuts as these help your hair and nails to grow stronger. Sue

Leave a Reply

